External Affairs, Department of (External Affairs Canada). The main functions of the department, established in 1909, are management of Canada's foreign relations and the promotion of Canada's export trade in Canada and abroad. The responsible ministers are the secretary of state for external affairs, the minister, international trade and the minister, external relations. The senior permanent officer (deputy minister) of the department, the under-secretary of state for external affairs, is assisted by two deputy ministers and by 12 assistant deputy ministers and they are advised by officers in charge of bureaus, divisions, and special or single-purpose units. Directors general or directors of these units are assisted by foreign service officers and trade officers, specialists in various occupational groups and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as high commissioner, ambassador, minister, minister-counsellor, counsellor, first secretary, second secretary, third secretary and attaché at diplomatic posts. and consul general, consul and vice-consul at consular posts. Trade commissioners are located at over 90 posts in 67 countries. Canada has diplomatic relations with 140 countries. (See Appendix 5 for locations.)

In Ottawa the department's work is conducted by regional, functional and administrative branches and operational bureaus and divisions. The five regional branches administer 13 geographical divisions, each responsible for the countries of a region. Eleven functional bureaus, comprised of 29 divisions, are concerned with energy, trade and general economic relations; consular services; co-ordination; defence and arms control; development, industry and science relations; legal affairs; international cultural relations; information; intelligence analysis and security; economic intelligence; and United Nations affairs. Four administrative bureaus are responsible for personnel, finance and management services, communications and general services, and physical resources.

In addition, there is a secretariat for an interdepartmental committee on external relations, an interdepartmental inspection service, a chief of protocol, an operations centre, a chief air negotiator, passport offices in Ottawa and Hull, seven regional passport offices, a press office, an information service, a library, an adviser on disarmament and arms control, an economic adviser, an adviser on conflict of interest and on international appointments, a co-ordinator and ambassador-at-large for the conference on security and co-operation in Europe (CSCE) and a senior management secretariat.

The International Joint Commission reports to the secretary of state for external affairs of Canada as well as to the secretary of state of the United States. The secretary of state for external affairs reports to Parliament for the Canadian International Development Agency.

Farm Credit Corp. (Farm Credit Corp. Canada). This Crown corporation, established in 1959 (RSC 1970, c.F-2) is responsible to Parliament through the minister of agriculture. Under the Farm Credit Act it makes long-term mortgage loans to farmers. It also administers the Farm Syndicates Credit Act.

Federal Business Development Bank (FBDB). The bank was established by an act of Parliament in 1974 (SC 1974-75-76, c.14) as a federal Crown corporation to

succeed the Industrial Development Bank. Under the act FBDB assists in establishing and developing business enterprises in Canada by providing financial services in term loans and investments and by supplementing services available from other sources. It also provides management services of counselling, training and information. The bank gives particular attention to the needs of small and medium-sized enterprises.

The board of directors consists of a president, four persons from the public service, and 10 persons from outside the public service. The bank's authorized capital is \$200 million, but it may raise additional funds by the issue and sale of debt obligations, provided that the total of the bank's direct and contingent liabilities shall not exceed 10 times its capital.

Federal Environmental Assessment Review Office. Following a cabinet decision in December 1973 (adjusted in February 1977), this office was formed to establish an environmental assessment and review process. All government departments and agencies are subject to the process, except proprietary Crown corporations and regulatory agencies which are invited to participate.

The process requires participating federal agencies to screen their projects, programs and activities for potentially adverse environmental effects, and refer those which may have significant impact to the review office for formal review. The office is directed by an executive chairman who reports to the minister of the environment.

In undertaking its review, each environmental assessment panel issues guidelines for use by the project proponent in preparing an environmental impact statement. Public response to this document is obtained through hearings where technical organizations, interest groups, and individual citizens are encouraged to present their views. After the panel has reviewed all the information, a report is prepared for the minister. The report contains conclusions and recommendations concerning project implementation. Decisions on the recommendations are made by the minister of the environment and the minister responsible for the project.

Federal-Provincial Relations Office. The office came into being in January 1975 by an act respecting the office of the secretary to the cabinet for federal-provincial relations and respecting the clerk of the Privy Council. For some years prior to the creation of the office, its functions had been carried out by a federal-provincial relations secretariat in the Privy Council office. The office is headed by the secretary to cabinet for federal-provincial relations who reports directly to the prime minister.

The office assists the prime minister in his overall responsibility for federal-provincial relations; assists the cabinet in examining federal-provincial issues of current and long-term concern and promotes and facilitates federal-provincial consultation. The FPRO also provides assistance to federal ministers, departments and agencies in the conduct of their relations with provincial governments.

Finance, Department of. Created by an act of Parliament in 1869, this department now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10 as amended). It is primarily responsible for advising the government on the